The Seipke Lab


Ryan F. Seipke, PhD

Assistant Professor: 2013 - Present


Postdoctoral experience:

NERC-funded postdoc, University of East Anglia (2012-2013)

MRC-funded postdoc, University of East Anglia (2009-2012)

USDA-funded postdoc, Cornell University (2008-2009)



PhD, Cornell University (2003-2008)

BA, Adrian College (1999-2003)


University of Leeds | School of Molecular & Cellular Biology | (e): r.seipke (at) | (t): +44(0) 113 34 35604






© Copyright Ryan F. Seipke 

Current lab members:

Asif Fazal (Wellcome Trust-funded PhD student from August 2017; Co-supervised by Dr. Michael Webb)

Daniel Van (Wellcome Trust-funded PhD student from August 2018; Supervised by Prof. Alan Berry)

Michael Brigham (MBiol student from September 2019)


Former lab members:


Dr. Bohdan Bilyk (BBSRC-funded postdoc from September 2016 - August 2019)

Dr. Daniel Francis (BBSRC NPRONET-funded postdoc from November 2017 - April 2018)



Ayat Al-Tarawin (Self-funded PhD student from October 2015 - August 2019; Supervised by Dr. Kenneth McDowall)

Divya Thankachan (Leeds-funded PhD student from October 2015 - March 2019)

Valentina Corce Paullier (Visiting PhD student from Universidad de la Republica Montevideo, June 2019 - August 2019)



David Sharples (BBSRC NPRONET-funded research technician from March 2018; Supervised by Dr. Alex O'Neill)



Thomas McLean (2015-2016; MBiol student)

Adam Jalal (2015-2016; MBiol student)

Adel Hussein (2017-2018; MBiol student)



Megan Cummings (Autumn 2018; Microbiology BSc student)

Amber Barker (Autumn 2018; Microbiology BSc student)

Jack Gough (Autumn 2017; Biological Sciences BSc student)

Steven Weatherson (Autumn 2017; Microbiology BSc student)

Katie Poulter (Summer 2017; Genetics BSc student)

Michelle Goutziers (2016-2017; Erasmus student from Techniek College Rotterdam; Supervised by Dr. Alex O'Neill)

Rebecca Joynt (Autumn 2016; Biochemistry Ind BSc student)

Ellie Harris (Autumn 2016; Biological Sciences Ind BSc student)

Callum Ditondo (Autumn 2015; Biological Sciences BSc student)

Lucy Wallace (2014; Microbiology BSc student)

Emma Warriner (Summer 2014; Microbiology BSc student)